From Sticks To Stars

Posted on April 9, 2009 by Danielle.
Categories: Everyday Stuff.

My name is Danielle Herb, I am 15 years old and the founder and CEO of Drop Your Reins.
 
I live in Live Oak, a small town in rural North Florida. I have one half sister age 6 (same Mom different Dad) and a half brother age 35 (same Dad different Mom). My brother Chris lives in Atlanta so I don’t see him much, but I live with my sister. Leila is a sneaky little 20 year old trapped in a 6 year olds body. She rides horses and is a lot like me. It is really weird because we don’t really argue. My mom says I am more like her second mother than her sister and we share a lot of love for each other. 

 Leila And Khiro
I got my first job at a horse ranch at the age of 11. I loved it. I loved taking care of horses and getting that paycheck at the end of the week, because getting it meant I did a good job. I love getting praised for the work I have done. The more people would praise the harder I would work.

I created my first business at the age of 13. It was called from Fear to Freedom. It has expanded and transformed into my current business, Drop Your Reins.
 
One unique thing about my life is the freedom I have. I am allowed to ride 15 miles by myself to my friend’s house, on a horse. The journey is a 3 to 4 hour ride. When Candice (my best friend) and I are together, we are use our minds and are very creative problem solvers. I have so much fun when I am with her. We live in the country, but we are also are kids that know how to have fun in the simplest of ways.
 
There is a lot of excitement around my house and with the current trend encouraging people towards a simpler life, we have it licked.  Here is the link to a slide show, (
http://bit.ly/t4mX )  that shows a lot of my life including redneck tubing. When we are bored who knows what we can come up with. One day we cut a barrel in half, burned a hole in it and pull each other around with out old 4-wheeler. I know you might think it is crazy but it shows you the fun we have in the simplest of ways. 
 
I am home schooled which also contributes to the freedom I have to explore life. We did have a private school called, The School Without Walls,  (
http://www.theschoolwithoutwalls.com)  for 2 years which was my lab or school to learn a deeper understanding of my role in life,   My mom is an entrepreneur, coach, and jack of all trades managing my crazing schedule and life. My step father is a investigator for the drug task force busting people for our local sheriff’s department.
 
I
was able to create and start my business and become a young entrepreneur and not wait until all my creativity was shut down. I also have an imagination, which helps me come up with new ideas. I publicly speak and encourage youth on young entrepreneurship and how to help parents understand their teens. I love being in the spot light. Talking to people and teaching kids is my life’s mission.
 
Horses are a huge part of what makes me tick. They have taught me so much about myself and life. They have both put me in the hospital and have saved my life. Working with horses is as natural as breathing to me. I am a healer and horse whisperer. I teach people how to tune into the horses language. I currently am helping ADHD kids and their parents develop healthier and happier lives without the use of prescription drugs using holistic remedies and the magic of the horses. The horses see the kids and teens for who they really are and love them for it.
 
I am so blessed to have my horses and family. They have helped me through the though times such as my dad being killed last year in a car accident and join with me in creating amazing fun times also.
 
Most kids can relate to me but I am not like them. I am said to be an old soul.  I have not gone to school to learn what I do, it just came through me. My talents have developed organically. I have gone through a lot of tough time and my life has changed so much. It seems to never stay the same for long at all.
 I have a whole other side of glitz, glamor and BLING also. I was born with a Gold Spoon in my mouth and raised in the posh community of Palm Beach, Florida, Wellington. You can see in the video I sent that I can dress up and play the part of a city slicker also.

LOL now you know a little more about me

no comments yet.

Leave a comment

Names and email addresses are required (email addresses aren't displayed), url's are optional.

Comments may contain the following xhtml tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>